Showtime: library to be proposed as Boost.Http!

It’s been two months already since my last post on this blog. All this time (and more), I’ve been (among other tasks) working on my 2014 GSoC project, an HTTP server proposal to Boost. I’ve finally reached a point where I feel it’s ready for major review/feedback.

If you’re a C++ programmer, a native speaker or an HTTP researcher (or just a little of everything) and you want to help, I’d like to ask you to review the project (interface-wise) and give me feedback.

You can find all the documentation and code at github.

Experience

This isn’t my first time on GSoC, but the experience was very different. The communities, development model, targeted audience, knowledge domain, to name a few, were completely different. Also, this year’s project wasn’t as challenging as the last one (although this is very subjective).

I improved as a programmer, but this is limiting. Once you become able to write algorithms for turing-machine compatible devices, there isn’t much room for improvement and you need to hunt other skills to continue improving (e.g. security, parallelism…). Coding for the sake of coding solves no problems. I decided to take a break (not exactly now, but in a few weeks) to make a shift and start to increase the efforts I dedicate to my academic skills.

Next step

I aim to integrate this library into Boost, so I still want to invest effort in this project.

Tags:,

Comentários (with MarkDown support)